Making a Classy Plate Stand

A quick, fun way to add a little sophistication and varying height in your table or desk decor (or a great way to serve cookies too!).  Initially, my mother-in-law gave me this clever idea and when I was looking for a way to display lemons on my desk, I reverted back to this nifty piece that is extremely easy to make.  I then set out to visit the local thrift and luckily came across some classy finds that worked perfectly with look I wanted in the room and my work space.  I found a pretty candle stick holder at just the right height and a super-cute dish for a little less than $2.00 total.

To make your own, here is what you’ll need:

  • Appetizer or Dessert Dish/Plate
  • A Tapered Candle Stick Holder (any height works, but I recommend sticking with 3″-4″)
  • Rubbing Alcohol (for cleaning the area that you will apply the glue and adhere the candle holder)
  • Cotton Balls or a Paper Towel
  • Craft Glue

Step 1: Clean the area on the underside of your dish and the top of your candle stick holder with rubbing alcohol and your cotton balls or a paper towel.

Step 2: With the underside of your dish face-up,  place the candle stick holder in the center of your dish.

Step 3: While holding the candle stick holder in the middle of the underside of your dish, apply your glue between the candle stick holder and dish.  Or if you have a good idea where the middle of your dish happens to be, you can apply the glue to the top of the candle stick and then place it in the middle.  However, I found that the glue holds much better if you apply the glue while the candle stick holder is already on the plate – you’ll get a more secure bond.

Step 4: Let your new creation dry.  I let my dry overnight to make sure that the glue is completely dry and the bond is as strong as possible.

It took me less than 10 minutes from prep to clean-up to create my plate stand and I know this project is easy enough that anyone can create their own.  Now, I’m going to enjoy my beautiful display of lemons and will most likely swap it out for some freshly baked sweet treats once a week.  Be sure to send in your comments or photos of how your project turned out, and how you use your sophisticated plate stand.

Enjoy!

Leave a reply

